EVENT CANCELED: Dr. Deborah Turner to visit campus as 2024 Mary Louise Smith Chair

CATEGORIES: January 2024, Voices

Due to the Jan. 28 death of Dr. Turner, the Feb. 13 lecture has been canceled.

Head-and-shoulders photo of Dr. Deborah Turner
Dr. Deborah Turner
On Feb. 13, Dr. Deborah Turner, president of the League of Women Voters of the United States, will visit Iowa State University as the 2024 Mary Louise Smith Chair in Women and Politics.

Turner will present “Visionary Activism: How To Get From Here to There” at 7 p.m. in the Durham Great Hall of the Memorial Union, with a reception following the presentation. Both events are free and open to the public.

“Dr. Turner is an ISU alumna, a role model, and a national political leader. We are honored to have her as the next Mary Louise Smith Chair,” said Karen Kedrowski, Catt Center director.

Turner, who also serves as chair of the Board of Trustees of the League of Women Voters Education Fund, was elected LWVUS board president at their national convention in June 2022 and will serve until June 2024.

She joined the Des Moines Metropolitan League of Women Voters in 2010, serving both as president of that chapter and as vice president of the League of Women Voters of Iowa board from 2011-2015 and becoming co-president of that board in 2015. She was elected to the League’s national board of directors in 2016, where she served on the Finance and Governance committees and chaired the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee. As chair of the DEI Committee, Turner and her colleagues focused on organizational culture and changes to the League’s mission work, emphasizing not only racial equity but also intergenerational dynamics, socioeconomic differences, gender identity, and interpersonal engagement.

Turner received her Bachelor of Science from Iowa State University and her Doctor of Medicine from the University of Iowa, where she completed her residency in obstetrics and gynecology. She completed her fellowship in gynecologic oncology at MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas. She practiced gynecologic oncology for 35 years, enhancing university programs at the University of Nebraska, University of Iowa, and Medical College of Wisconsin, teaching residents and students. She also served the private sector in Iowa at Genesis Medical Center in Davenport, Mercy Cancer Center in Mason City, and Mercy Medical Center in Des Moines.

In 2007, Turner received her Juris Doctor from Drake University.

Turner has participated in twelve medical missions to Tanzania since 2011, and in July 2015 she left active practice to become vice president of international programs for the Outreach Program. She served as associate medical director of Planned Parenthood of North Central States from 2016-2022.

Widely recognized for her work, Turner was inducted into the Iowa Women’s Hall of Fame in 2013 and received the Gertrude Rush Award from the National Bar Association in 2015. She was awarded the Louise Noun Visionary Women of the Year award from Young Women’s Resource Center Des Moines in 2018. Her most treasured award is a certificate from the Schwartz Center for Compassionate Care. In 2022, Fortune Magazine named her a “Marquis Who’s Who” top professional for her work with the League of Women Voters.

The lecture is co-sponsored by the Department of Political Science and the Committee on Lectures (funded by Student Government).

Mary Louise Smith
Mary Louise Smith
Turner will be the 36th prominent woman leader to visit Iowa State University through the sponsorship of the Mary Louise Smith Chair in Women and Politics. The chair was established in 1995 to honor the Iowa native and longtime political and civic leader. Smith – the first woman to chair the Republican National Committee – was a mentor, friend and role model to many in the world of politics and civic, government and community affairs.

The purpose of the chair is to bring nationally known political leaders, scholars and activists to Iowa State to enrich the experiences of students and educate citizens about the role of women in the political process.