Karen Kedrowski appointed Whitaker-Lindgren Faculty Fellow

CATEGORIES: July 2023, Voices

Karen Kedrowski
Karen Kedrowski (Christopher Gannon/Iowa State University)
Karen M. Kedrowski, director of the Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics and professor of political science, has been named a Whitaker-Lindgren Faculty Fellow in the Department of Political Science. The appointment will run July 1, 2023, through June 30, 2025.

“I am flattered, humbled, and honored by this recognition,” Kedrowski said. “I am grateful to my colleagues and to Dean Schmittmann for their nomination and support.”

One focus of Kedrowski’s research since arriving at Iowa State University in January 2019 has been the center’s Gender Balance Project, which gathers data on the extent to which gender balance has been achieved on county and city boards in Iowa since the state’s gender balance legislation went into effect in 2012. Kedrowski will use the fellowship’s funds to hire a graduate assistant who will design and implement a research project to develop a “best practices” document for local governments to use to comply with Iowa’s gender balance law.

“Iowa’s gender balance law is unique in the nation and it has led to increasing percentages of gender-balanced local boards and commissions. This best-practices document will help build upon this success,” said Kedrowski.

The Whitaker-Lindgren Faculty Fellowship in Political Science is possible through the generous donation of Mary Whitaker-Lindgren and Douglas Lindgren, long-time supporters of Iowa State’s Department of Political Science. Faculty recipients must use the funds to advance and disseminate research that positively impacts the political science department and its students. Previous recipients of the fellowship are David Peterson (2019-2021) and Alex Tuckness (2021-2023).