Donors contribute to Catt Center’s programs, scholarships, activities

CATEGORIES: March 2023, Voices

The Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics thanks the following donors for their friendship, support and contributions to its programs, scholarships and activities in 2022, the center’s 30th anniversary year.

With their support, the center provided scholarships, internships, and leadership development to students; promoted student voter engagement; brought noted guest speakers to campus both virtually and in person; hosted a virtual showing of a documentary on U.S. Rep. Barbara Lee; expanded the collections of the Archives of Women’s Political Communication; supported academic research through the Carrie Chapman Catt Prize for Research on Women and Politics; and gathered and analyzed data about Iowa women in elected and appointed political office. Through donations to the 30th Anniversary Legacy of Heroines Scholarship fund, the center will be able to offer a new Legacy of Heroines scholarship for the 2023-2024 academic year.

Donors also purchased bricks and pavers in the Plaza of Heroines to honor important women in their lives.

The donors listed below made gifts to the center between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2022, or have provided endowment funds that generate annual support.

Archives of Women’s Political Communication

  • The late Mary Jo and Richard Stanley

Axel Leadership Development Fund

  • Joni and John Axel – Muscatine, Iowa
  • David Hoffman – Ames, Iowa

Carrie Chapman Catt Center Endowment

  • Andrew Goodman Foundation – New York, N.Y.
  • Konni Cawiezell – Omaha, Neb.
  • Megan Darbyshire – Ames, Iowa
  • Cheryl Erb – Charles City, Iowa
  • Edward Gallagher – Waterloo, Iowa
  • Susan and Ronald Goings – Clifton Forge, Va.
  • Grand Falls Casino & Gold Resort
  • William and Nancy Haigh – Peoria, Ariz.
  • Rebecca Hoeppner – Ames, Iowa
  • Carolyn and John Klaus – Ames, Iowa
  • Debra Marple – Sac City, Iowa
  • Linda Marticke – Ames, Iowa
  • Carolyn Masci – Massapequa, N.Y.
  • Julia McClendon – Hampshire, Ill.
  • Cynthia Oppedal Paschen and John Paschen – Ames, Iowa
  • Phyllis Peters – Ames, Iowa
  • Kay Kretschmar Runge – Davenport, Iowa
  • Vaughn Speer – Ames, Iowa
  • The late Mary Jo and Richard Stanley
  • Stephanie Vavra – Morrison, Ill.
  • Mariaelena Welch – Santa Barbara, Calif.
  • Marivelle Whitver – Rolling Meadows, Ill.
  • Shana Wilson and Mark Babas – Berthoud, Colo.

Legacy of Heroines Scholarships and Internships

  • 30th Anniversary Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Karen Beckwith – Hudson, Ohio; Gloria Betcher and Douglas Biggs – Ames, Iowa; Megan Darbyshire – Ames, Iowa; Cheryl Erb – Charles City, Iowa; Emily and Jason Hurst – White Lake, Mich.; Susan and Michael Johannsen – Muscatine, Iowa; ReflectUS – New York, N.Y.; ReflectUS – Washington, D.C.; Maggie and John Roby – Overland Park, Kan.; Marivelle Whitver – Rolling Meadows, Ill.; Shana Wilson and Mark Babas – Berthoud, Colo.
  • Claire B. Andreasen Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Dr. Claire Andreasen – Ames, Iowa
  • Katherine Bruntlett Annin Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Katherine Annin estate
  • Beth Bierbaum Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Beth Bierbaum – Wellesley, Mass.
  • Maxine M. Burch Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Maxine Burch estate
  • Phyllis Davis Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Endowed fund with multiple donors
  • Jane Greimann Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: The late Lowell Greimann
  • Haselhoff Family Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Sharon Haselhoff – Larchwood, Iowa; Lynn Bartlett – Harrisburg, S.D.; Melinda Else – Brandon, S.D.; Trevor Enger – Rock Rapids, Iowa; Vince Fury – Tea, S.D.; Christopher Hickman – Larchwood, Iowa; Keri Hubers – Baltic, S.D.; Rea Stroh – Sioux Falls, S.D.; and Mara Venners – San Francisco, Calif.
  • Elizabeth Hoffman and Brian R. Binger Legacy of Heroines Fund: Elizabeth Hoffman and Brian R. Binger – Ames, Iowa
  • Helen Jensen Howe Scholarship for Women in Science: Helen Jensen Howe – Muscatine, Iowa
  • Kedrowski and Fitzgerald Family Legacy of Heroines: Karen Kedrowski and family – Ames, Iowa; Ames Branch-AAUW – Ames, Iowa
  • Meylor Family Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Sharon Haselhoff – Larchwood, Iowa; Mara Venners – San Francisco, Calif.
  • Political Science Alumni Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Sharon Haselhoff – Larchwood, Iowa; and Maureen Roach Tobin and Terrence Tobin – Clive, Iowa
  • Rice-Neville Political Activism Fund: Dianne and Keith Bystrom – Plattsmouth, Neb.
  • Sharon and Alice Rodine Leadership and Advocacy Internship: Sharon and Richard Rodine – Dallas, Texas
  • James R. and Lauri K. Young Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Lauri and James Young – Cedar Falls, Iowa

Mary Louise Smith Chair in Women and Politics

  • The late Mary Jo and Richard Stanley

Plaza of Heroines Fund (donors and honorees)

  • Ann Au (Des Moines, Iowa) honored Jody Breckenridge, Joann “Jodi” Breckenridge Wright, Sally Brunn Breckenridge, Ona May Wilken Breckenridge, Barbara Wright Edwards, Anne Kent and Ann Wright Au
  • Albulena Basha (Ames, Iowa) honored Afërdita Dërmaku Basha
  • Roger Bertelsen (Ames, Iowa) honored Corry Brouwer Bertelsen
  • Marcus Cottrell (Lenexa, Kan.) honored Emily Rinko
  • Robert Currie (Ames, Iowa) honored Venita Currie
  • Madison Fisher and friends (Chicago, Ill.) honored Jordan Giachetti
  • Breehan Gerleman and Joseph Lucchesi (Ankeny, Iowa) honored Logan Brosnahan Gerleman
  • Logan Gerleman (Ankeny, Iowa) honored Breehan Brosnahan Gerleman
  • Beth Henningson (Ames, Iowa) honored Sue Stirler
  • ISU Foundation (Ames, Iowa) honored Lisa M. Eslinger
  • Jodi and Jered Jacobson (Jamestown, N.D.) honored Emily Fuller
  • League of Women Voters of Ames & Story County honored Louise O’Donnell
  • David Klinger (Los Gatos, Calif.) honored Judy Ann Hansen Klinger
  • Jordyn Letter (Baldwin, Wisc.) honored Vicki Wilke
  • Annell and Cale Nelson (Saint Paul, Minn.) with a matching gift from Cybergrants honored Katie Nelson
  • Jack Petty and family (Venice, Fla.) honored Karen M. Albertson
  • Kara Rueschenberg (Harlan, Iowa) honored Amy Mosher Rueschenberg
  • Jill Smart and Gary Koenig (Kingsport, Tenn.) honored Mary Elizabeth Berg Holst
  • Isabelle Staudt (Urbandale, Iowa) honored Susan M. Abernathy
  • Kaitlynn and Blake Wulfekuhle (Ames, Iowa) honored Kimberly Allen Wulfekuhle
  • Amy and Douglas Zdansky (Sandia, Texas) honored Allison Veronda

Stanley Global Leaders Scholarship Fund

  • The late Mary Jo and Richard Stanley

Student Internship and Scholarship General Fund

  • Samuel Johnson – Ames, Iowa
  • Ann and Brent Carstensen – Iowa City, Iowa
  • Maureen Roach Tobin and Terrence Tobin – Clive, Iowa