Donors contribute to Catt Center’s programs, scholarships and activities

CATEGORIES: March 2022, Voices

The Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics thanks the following donors for their friendship, support and contributions to its programs, scholarships and activities.

With their support, the center provided scholarships, internships, and leadership development and civic engagement programs to students; brought noted guest speakers to campus both virtually and in person; expanded the collections of the Archives of Women’s Political Communication; supported academic research through the Carrie Chapman Catt Prize for Research on Women and Politics; gathered and analyzed data about Iowa women in elected and appointed political office; and offered workshops to people interested in becoming more involved in politics and public service through Ready to Run® Iowa.

Donors also purchased bricks and pavers in the Plaza of Heroines to honor important women in their lives.

The donors listed below made gifts to the center between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2021, or have provided endowment funds that generate annual support.

19th Amendment Centennial Commemoration Project

  • League of Women Voters of Iowa

Archives of Women’s Political Communication

  • The late Mary Jo and Richard Stanley

Axel Leadership Development Fund

  • Joni and John Axel – Muscatine, Iowa
  • David Hoffman – Ames, Iowa

Carrie Chapman Catt Center Endowment

  • Judith Brandlin – Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Cheryl Erb – Charles City, Iowa
  • William and Nancy Haigh – Peoria, Ariz.
  • Sharon Juon – Waterloo, Iowa
  • Debra Marple – Sac City, Iowa
  • Carolyn Masci – Massapequa, N.Y.
  • Cheryl Peckenpaugh – Greenbelt, Md.
  • Kimberly and Kevin Robinson – Oak Park, Ill.
  • Kay Kretschmar Runge – Davenport, Iowa
  • Angela Schmidt – Fairbanks, Alaska
  • Vaughn Speer – Ames, Iowa
  • The late Mary Jo and Richard Stanley
  • Mariaelena Welch – Santa Barbara, Calif.

Iowa State Conference on Civility and Deliberative Democracy

  • Linda Cottington Killinger and Kerry Killinger – Shoreline, Wash.

Legacy of Heroines Scholarships and Internships

  • Claire B. Andreasen Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Dr. Claire Andreasen – Ames, Iowa
  • Katherine Bruntlett Annin Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Katherine Annin estate – Sun City, Ariz.
  • Beth Bierbaum Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Beth Bierbaum – Wellesley, Mass.
  • Maxine M. Burch Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Maxine Burch estate – Newton, Kan.
  • Phyllis Davis Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Endowed fund with multiple donors
  • Jane Greimann Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: The late Lowell Greimann
  • Haselhoff Family Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Sharon Haselhoff – Larchwood, Iowa; Lynn Bartlett – Harrisburg, S.D.; Melinda Else – Brandon, S.D.; Trevor Enger – Rock Rapids, Iowa; Vincent Fiala, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Vince Fury – Tea, S.D.; Christopher Hickman – Larchwood, Iowa; Keri Hubers – Baltic, S.D.; Jed Johson – Rock Rapids, Iowa; Duane Rieger – Hartford, S.D.; Todd Slager – Sioux Falls, S.D.; and Clayton Stevens – Brandon, S.D.
  • Elizabeth Hoffman and Brian R. Binger Legacy of Heroines Fund: Elizabeth Hoffman and Brian R. Binger – Ames, Iowa
  • Helen Jensen Howe Scholarship for Women in Science: Helen Jensen Howe – Muscatine, Iowa
  • Kedrowski and Fitzgerald Family Legacy of Heroines: Karen Kedrowski – Ames, Iowa; Ames Branch-AAUW; and ISU Women’s Club
  • Joanne and Charles Kuster Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Joanne and Chuck Kuster – Johnston, Iowa
  • Meylor Family Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Sharon Haselhoff – Larchwood, Iowa
  • Political Science Alumni Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Sharon Haselhoff – Larchwood, Iowa; and Maureen Roach Tobin and Terrence Tobin – Clive, Iowa
  • Rice-Neville Political Activism Fund: Dianne and Keith Bystrom – Plattsmouth, Neb.
  • Sharon and Alice Rodine Leadership and Advocacy Internship: Sharon and Richard Rodine – Dallas, Texas
  • James R. and Lauri K. Young Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Lauri and James Young – Cedar Falls, Iowa

Mary Louise Smith Chair in Women and Politics

  • The late Mary Jo and Richard Stanley

Plaza of Heroines Fund (donors and honorees)

  • The Ajitaprasad family (Eden Prairie, Minn.) honored Beena Ajitaprasad
  • Stephanie Johnson Bates (Ames, Iowa) honored Annette V. Ruedenberg
  • Scott Blum (Grimes, Iowa) honored Cara M. Blum
  • Zach Bonner (Ames, Iowa) honored Kennedy E. Bonner
  • The Butcher family (Ankeny, Iowa) honored Julie Anne McKean
  • Patrick, William, Katherine and Jack Greenwood (Lamoni, Iowa) honored Teresa Greenwood
  • Norma Hensley (Harrison, Ariz.) honored Sedahlia Crase
  • Raul Hernandez (Rock Island, Ill.) honored Alma Lydia Gonzalez
  • Emily and Ashley Hohneke (Ames, Iowa) honored Jennifer Hohneke
  • Iowa State University College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Student Academic Services honored Melinda Howard and Nancy Rosenquist
  • Iowa State University Department of Chemistry honored Nancy Shier
  • Iowa State University Department of Human Development and Family Studies honored Gayle Luze and Lisa Enloe
  • Iowa State University Facilities Planning and Management honored Jody G. Danielson
  • Brandon and Jacqueline Kester (Ames, Iowa) honored Deb Kester
  • League of Women Voters of Ames and Story County honored Sehba Faheem and Nancy Halvorson
  • League of Women Voters of Iowa honored Doris Kelley and Linda Niles Schreiber
  • Sean, Camryn, and Allie McPherson (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) honored Shannon Jane McPherson
  • Chad and Emily Olson (Gilbert, Iowa) honored Kristine Olson
  • Katie Paulus (Spencer, Iowa) honored Emily Jo Majerczyk
  • Timothy Schwering (Spokane, Wash.) honored Sarah J. Schwering
  • Christine Sundermann (Auburn, Ala.) honored Catherine L. Sundermann and Margarita Toth Sundermann
  • John Sundermann (Auburn, Ala.) honored Christine A. Sundermann
  • Troy and Maureen Terry and family (South Bend, Ind.) honored Dora Lee Terry
  • Terry Neal Trimpe (Hiawatha, Iowa) honored Dr. Nancy Hill Cobb
  • Madalyn Walker (De Soto, Iowa) honored Karen Ann Walker
  • Lisa and David Warning and family (Carver, Minn.) honored Jeanne Warning
  • Katherine Young (Windsor Heights, Iowa) honored Andrea Lundeen Schroder

Stanley Global Leaders Scholarship Fund

  • The late Mary Jo and Richard Stanley

Student Internship and Scholarship General Fund

  • Constance Schoppe estate
  • Maureen Roach Tobin and Terrence Tobin – Clive, Iowa
  • Julia and David Wilson – Ames, Iowa