Of note: News about center faculty, staff, students, alumni and friends

CATEGORIES: January 2022, Voices

The Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics is pleased to recognize the accomplishments and activities of its faculty, staff, students, alumni and supporters:

Dianne Bystrom, director emerita, is the co-author of a paper presented at the National Communication Association’s 2021 annual convention in Seattle, Washington. The paper, “Gender and Candidate Style: An Analysis of Televised Ads in the 2020 U.S. Senate Races,” was presented on Nov. 18 by co-author Mary Christine Banwart as part of a panel on “The Role of Conflict, Crisis and Candidate Messages: How Gender Transformed the 2020 Election.” Banwart, an associate professor of communication studies and director of the Institute for Leadership Studies at the University of Kansas, is a 2000 recipient of the Carrie Chapman Catt Prize for Research on Women and Politics.

The Catt Center was awarded a $22,000 grant from Hard Won, Not Done: The 19th Amendment Centennial Commemoration Committee, to write a high school curriculum on the history of the Equal Rights Amendment. This curriculum will be completed in advance of the centennial of the ERA’s first introduction to Congress in 2023.

Elli Grapp, the Rodine Leadership and Advocacy intern at the Catt Center in 2015-2016, has begun a new position with the YMCA as regional training director for the Duluth (Minnesota) Area Family YMCA, where she will support 12 northern and Midwestern states. She will remain in Omaha, Nebraska, working remotely in her new role. She previously served as the people services manager at the YMCA of Greater Omaha, where she coordinated its Equity Task Force and facilitated education and dialogue around diversity, equity and inclusion for its staff.

Meg Grice, a fall 2021 graduate in public relations and international studies and a 2020-2021 Elizabeth Hoffman and Brian R. Binger Legacy of Heroines scholar, served as the Fall 2021 LAS student marshal at the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Convocation ceremony on Dec. 17. This honor is given to a graduating LAS student who is nominated by LAS faculty and staff and selected by Dean Beate Schmittmann. The selection is based on a minimum 3.50 grade point average and the student’s accomplishments, achievements and involvement at Iowa State.

Karen Kedrowski, center director, facilitated a parliamentary procedure workshop for the Ames Community School Board on December 9.

Kelly Winfrey, coordinator of research and outreach for the Catt Center, presented a paper titled “Have You Come a Long Way, Baby, Since 2008?: One Major Step Forward with Missteps Along the Way” at the annual conference of the National Communication Association on Nov. 20 in Seattle, Washington. Winfrey will start as the director of graduate education for Iowa State’s Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication on January 15.