Of note: News about center faculty, staff, students, alumni and friends

CATEGORIES: May 2021, Voices

The Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics is pleased to recognize the accomplishments and activities of its faculty, staff, students, alumni and supporters:

Claire Andreasen, Dr. Roger and Marilyn Mahr Professor in One Health in veterinary pathology and sponsor of the Claire B. Andreasen Legacy of Heroines Scholarship, has been named University Professor. The title is awarded to a faculty member who has made significant contributions to improve the university and demonstrated outstanding performance in at least one other area of faculty responsibility. Nominees must hold the rank of professor and have served at least 10 years on the Iowa State faculty.

Cameron Beatty, who taught in the ISU Leadership Studies Program from 2013-2016, is the co-author of a recently published book designed for college student leaders and educators as well as professionals who work with student leaders on college campuses. “Engaging in the Leadership Process: Identity, Capacity, and Efficacy for College Students” offers grounding concepts of leadership and examples illustrating the complexity of culturally relevant leadership learning. Beatty is an assistant professor in the Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies at Florida State University.

Monic Behnken, associate professor of sociology and director of the Leadership Studies Program, has been selected as the first associate dean for diversity, equity and inclusion in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Behnken was also a 2017 Women Impacting ISU calendar honoree.

Dianne Bystrom, director emerita, director emerita, gave a presentation via Zoom on “A Century of Suffrage: The History of Women as Voters” on March 23 to the Nebraska Public Policy District’s Women in Energy meeting for Women’s History Month. On March 29, she presented “‘But Is She Likeable?’: Gendered Media Coverage of Women Political Candidates” via Zoom for the League of Women Voters of Greater Omaha’s Dine and Discuss program. Bystrom also participated in the virtual academic conferences of the Central States Communication Association and Midwest Political Science Association. At CSCA, she presented remarks as part of a panel discussion on “Analyzing the 2020 Presidential Election and its Aftermath” on March 26 and chaired a panel on “Madame Vice President: Meanings and Implications in the Historic Election of Kamala Harris,” during which she also presented “Kamala Harris’ Campaign Communication: 2016-2020,” on March 27. At MPSA, Bystrom presented “Media over Message? A Gendered Comparison of the News Coverage and TV Ads of the 2020 U.S. Senate Candidates” on April 14 with Mary Christine Banwart of the University of Kansas. Banwart is a 2000 recipient of the Carrie Chapman Catt Prize for Research on Women and Politics.

Sebha Faheem, a 2021 Iowa State graduate in biological systems engineering who was a student voting engagement intern with the center last fall, is the recipient of the 2021 Making Democracy Work Award from the League of Women Voters of Ames and Story County. Faheem also worked on Rachel Junck’s successful campaign for Ames City Council in 2019. Faheem was nominated for the award by center director Karen Kedrowski, with Junck writing a letter of recommendation.

Blake Hanson was recognized as a 2021 Statement Maker by the ISU Alumni Association at their Honors & Awards ceremony on April 7. Hanson, a 2012 graduate in political science with a certificate in community leadership and public service, was a Ready to Run Iowa participant as a student and now serves on the Ready to Run Iowa advisory board.

Connie Hargrave, professor of educational technology and critical multicultural education, has been appointed as the first associate dean for equity and engagement in the College of Engineering. Hargrave was a 2019 Women Impacting ISU calendar honoree.

Lynette Hornung, former center staff member, received the Citation of Merit award from the College of Liberal Arts and Science at the ISU Alumni Association Honors & Awards ceremony on April 7. Hornung earned a Bachelor of Arts in political science in 1993, a Master of Arts in political science in 1997 and a Master of Science in information assurance in 2004, all from Iowa State University.

Karen Kedrowski, center director, has been elected to the Iowa State University Faculty Senate. She has also been appointed to the Iowa History Advisory Council. On March 17 and May 5, Kedrowski appeared on Iowa Public Radio’s “River to River.” On March 28, she celebrated Women’s History Month with Ames High International Students. On March 30, Kedrowski moderated a Global Café on women’s empowerment for the Iowa International Center. On April 6, she gave a presentation on “Hard Won, Not Done” to the Des Moines PEO, Chapter LN. On April 15, she was presented a guest lecture on Carrie Chapman Catt and the suffrage movement for the history department at Drake University. On April 20, she presented to the Faculty Network for Student Voting Rights’ virtual Spring Retreat. She will give a presentation on suffrage and voting rights to the Colonial Dames of Iowa on May. 12 Kedrowski was co-author of the article “Students’ perceptions of experiential learning in a political events course: A case study from Iowa,” published on April 1 by Taylor & Francis Online for the Journal of Convention & Event Tourism.

Lissandra Villa, Catt Center student intern in 2014-2015 and Elverna Christian Legacy of Heroines scholar from 2013-2016, is returning to BuzzFeed as a national political reporter after two years as a staff reporter at Time magazine. She graduated from Iowa State in 2016 with a degree in journalism & mass communication and political science.

Kelly Winfrey, coordinator of research and outreach for the center and assistant professor in the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication, presented “‘I’m F–king Moving to Iowa:’ Gender and Candidate Image in the 2020 Iowa Caucus” on March 26 Central States Communication Association conference, held virtually. She also participated in the panel discussion, “Madam Vice President: Meanings and Implications in the Historic Election of Kamala Harris,” at the conference. Winfrey is also a winner of the CSCA’s Judith S. Trent Award for Early Career Excellence in Political Communication.