Of note: News about center faculty, students, alumni and supporters

CATEGORIES: July 2020, Voices

The Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics is pleased to recognize the accomplishments and activities of its faculty, students, alumni and supporters:

Cameron Beatty, assistant professor in the Educational Leadership and Policy Studies Department at Florida State University, received the Inclusive Teaching and Mentoring Award from that institution. Beatty also received the McKnight Junior Faculty Development Fellowship, awarded by the Florida Education Fund to a junior faculty member in recognition of their teaching excellence. Beatty earned a Ph.D. in higher education administration from Iowa State in August 2014. He taught courses for Iowa State’s Leadership Studies Program as a graduate teaching assistant in 2013-2014 and as a lecturer from 2014-2016.

Monic Behnken, associate professor of sociology and director of the Leadership Studies Program, received the ISU Award for Inclusive Excellence from the university. Behnken participated in Ready to Run Iowa 2017, was a speaker for Ready to Run Iowa 2019 and was honored on the 2017 Women Impacting ISU calendar. She has been a member of the Ames Community School Board since 2017.

Ann Haugland, academic advisor for the Communication Studies Program at Iowa State, received the 2020 Ruth W. Swenson Award for Outstanding Advising from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Haugland is a long-time member of the Leadership Studies Program Advisory Board.

Karen Kedrowski, center director, led an online discussion with Dr. Deborah Turner and Doris Kelley after the Iowa PBS online preview of the new American Experience documentary “The Vote” on June 23. Kedrowski was also interviewed on the July 1 episode of Iowa Public Radio’s “River to River.”

Kedrowski and Dianne Bystrom, Catt Center director emerita, co-authored the June 8 article “19 Facts about the 19th Amendment on its 100th Anniversary” in The Conversation.

To encourage and support suffrage centennial celebrations in the second half of 2020 and throughout 2021, the National Women’s History Alliance has created a Women’s Suffrage Centennial Catalog of commemorative material produced by state centennial groups, non-profits, artists and small businesses across the country.

Amy Erica Smith, LAS Dean’s Professor and associate professor of political science at Iowa State, has been selected as a 2020 Andrew Carnegie Fellow in recognition of high-caliber scholarly research in the humanities and social sciences that addresses important and enduring issues confronting our society. Smith, the first Andrew Carnegie Fellow at Iowa State, will receive $200,000 in philanthropic support for the award. Smith is also the recipient of the 2020 LAS Award for Mid-Career Achievement in Research from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Iowa State.

Alissa Stoehr, assistant teaching professor for the Women’s and Gender Studies Program at Iowa State, received the Wilbur L. Layton Faculty Recognition Award through the Division of Student Affairs. The annual award is presented to a faculty member who has collaborated with the Division of Student Affairs to serve students and has been a strong supporter of student success. Stoehr was a graduate assistant with the Catt Center in 2009 and 2014, and a participant in Ready to Run Iowa in 2009 and 2011.

Toward a Universal Suffrage,” a traveling exhibit featuring six African American Iowa suffragists, is now showing at the State Historical Museum. A full schedule of this exhibit’s appearances is available on the Central Iowa Community Museum web site. The exhibit is the result of a collaboration between the Iowa Office on the Status of Women, the Central Iowa Community Museum, and the Catt Center, and was funded in part by Iowa State University’s College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Humanities Iowa and the National Endowment for the Humanities.