Donors contribute to Catt Center’s programs, scholarships and activities

CATEGORIES: March 2017, Voices

The Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics thanks the following donors for their friendship, support and contributions to its programs, scholarships and activities.

With the help of their support, the center provided scholarships, internships and leadership development programs to students; sponsored civic engagement activities such as voter registration drives and presidential candidate debate watches; brought a noted guest speaker to the Iowa State campus through the Mary Louise Smith Chair in Women and Politics; expanded the collections of the Archives of Women’s Political Communication; supported academic research through the Carrie Chapman Catt Prize for Research on Women and Politics; and gathered and analyzed data about Iowa women in elected and appointed political office as well as in leadership positions in private businesses and nonprofits.

Donors also purchased bricks and pavers in the Plaza of Heroines to honor important women in their lives. Those purchases, along with purchases from previous years, helped fund a multi-year renovation project, which was completed in the summer of 2016, to replace worn pavers on the Plaza of Heroines.

The donors listed below made gifts to the center between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2016, or have provided endowment funds that generate annual support.

Archives of Women’s Political Communication

  • Mary Jo and Richard Stanley – Muscatine, Iowa

Axel Leadership Development Fund

  • Joni and John Axel – Muscatine, Iowa
  • American Association of University Women – Ames, Iowa, chapter
  • Judith and David Hoffman – Ames, Iowa

Carrie Chapman Catt Center Endowment

  • Bobbier and Adam Cranston – Waukee, Iowa
  • Catherine Elliot – West Des Moines, Iowa
  • Sharon Juon – Waterloo, Iowa
  • Susan and Lawrence Koehrsen – Ames, Iowa
  • Debra Marple – Sac City, Iowa
  • Carolyn Masci – Massapequa, N.Y.
  • Theresa McCormick – Seattle, Wash.
  • Gaynelle Moore – Queensbury, N.Y.
  • Cheryl Peckenpaugh – Greenbelt, Md.
  • Michelle Pommer – Fort Dodge, Iowa
  • Kay Kretschmar Runge – Des Moines, Iowa
  • Vaughn Speer – Ames, Iowa
  • Delores Van Horn – Canadian Lakes, Mich.

Legacy of Heroines Scholarships and Internships

  • Katherine Bruntlett Annin Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Katherine Annin estate – Sun City, Ariz.
  • Beth Bierbaum Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Beth Bierbaum – Wellesley, Mass.
  • Maxine M. Burch Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Maxine Burch estate – Newton, Kan.
  • Elverna Christian Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Darleane and Marvin Hoffman – Oakland, Calif.
  • Phyllis Davis Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Endowed fund with multiple donors
  • Jane Greimann Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Lowell Greimann – Ames, Iowa
  • Haselhoff Family Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Sharon Haselhoff – Larchwood, Iowa
  • Elizabeth Hoffman and Brian R. Binger Legacy of Heroines Fund: Elizabeth Hoffman and Brian R. Binger – Ames, Iowa
  • Helen Jensen Howe Scholarship for Women in Science: Helen Jensen Howe – Muscatine, Iowa
  • Joanne and Charles Kuster Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Joanne and Chuck Kuster – Johnston, Iowa
  • Meylor Family Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Sharon Haselhoff – Larchwood, Iowa
  • Political Science Alumni Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Nancy and William Haigh – Fairmont, Minn.; Sharon Haselhoff – Larchwood, Iowa; Maureen Roach Tobin and Terrence Tobin – Clive, Iowa (with a matching gift from Principal Financial Group Inc., Des Moines, Iowa); and Dona Wolf and Dwight Ink – Leesburg, Va.
  • Rice-Neville Political Activism Fund: Dianne and Keith Bystrom – Ames, Iowa
  • Alice Rodine Community Activism Fund: Sharon and Richard Rodine – Dallas, Texas
  • Sharon Rodine Leadership and Advocacy Fund: Sharon and Richard Rodine – Dallas, Texas
  • James R. and Lauri K. Young Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Lauri and James Young – Cedar Falls, Iowa

Mary Louise Smith Chair in Women and Politics

  • Mary Jo and Richard Stanley – Muscatine, Iowa

Plaza of Heroines Fund (donors and honorees)

  • Mark and Julie Aust (McFarland, Wis.) honored Pat Vance Aust
  • Annie Banks (Austin, Texas) honored Connie Banks
  • Gulbahar Beckett (Ames, Iowa) honored her mother, Zoram
  • The family of Lori Burbridge (Waukee, Iowa) honored Lori Burbridge
  • Tucker Carrell (Sioux City, Iowa) honored Patricia Limoges Carrell
  • Tucker Carrell, Kara Groetken (Vermillion, S.D.) and Quinton Bose (Ames, Iowa) honored Arynn Rasmussen and Janet Young
  • Steffini Eisenbeis (West Des Moines, Iowa) honored Dolores Timmer Eisenbeis
  • Bernard Ho (Belmont, Mass.) honored Jennifer Lam
  • Andrea Hrbek (Ames, Iowa) honored Andrea Hrbek, Kylynn Hrbek and Karissa Elgersma
  • Iowa State University Agronomy Club honored Melissa Stolt
  • Iowa State University Department of Statistics honored Jeanette La Grange
  • Iowa State University Office of Admissions honored Maura Flaschner
  • Katie Jacobson (Ames, Iowa) honored Amanda Marie Jacobson
  • Jeffrey Kemink (Bloomington, Minn.) with a matching gift from the Wells Fargo Foundation (Naperville, Ill.) honored Roxann Kemink
  • League of Women Voters of Ames and Story County honored Sandra Bryant McJimsey and Linda Murken
  • Memorial Union building managers honored Kim Perlstein
  • Pi Beta Phi/Iowa Gamma Chapter and Pi Beta Phi Alumnae Club (Ames, Iowa) honored Fran Desimone Becque
  • Jill Pruetz (Ames, Iowa) honored Dorothy Jean Elizabeth Pruetz
  • Jodi Reinke (Ankeny, Iowa) and siblings Michelle, Rebecca and Ben honored their mother, Caroline E. Conkey
  • Caisa and Jeffrey Royer (Lincoln, Neb.) honored RuthAnn Gosmire Royer
  • Zoe Scheve (Ames, Iowa) honored Mary Thomas Scheve
  • Erma and Norm Skadburg (Fort Collins, Colo.) honored Jill Skadburg Farmer
  • Tyler and Nicole Suchsland (Gurnee, Ill.) honored Donna M. Suchsland
  • J.W. and Dustin Thomas (Fairmont, Minn.) honored Lori Ellerman Thomas
  • Gregory Voga (Roland, Iowa) honored Lana Voga
  • Jacob and Danae Ziggafoos (Elkhorn, Neb.) honored Angela M. Ziggafoos
  • Zora Zimmerman (Ames, Iowa) honored Nikki Bado
  • Danjin Zulic (Ankeny, Iowa) and Hajdi, Andrea, Rylan and Chip honored their mother, Suada Zulic

Ready to Run Iowa: Campaign Training for Women

  • Ames Chamber of Commerce
  • Elizabeth Baird and Kenneth Cameron – Ames, Iowa
  • Norah Carroll – Des Moines, Iowa
  • Iowa State University Women’s and Diversity Grants Program
  • League of Women Voters of Ames and Story County
  • Mary Jo and Richard Stanley – Muscatine, Iowa

Stanley Global Leaders Scholarship Fund

  • Mary Jo and Richard Stanley – Muscatine, Iowa

Student Internship and Scholarship General Fund

  • Judith Brandlin – Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Jane Jacobson – Ames, Iowa

Vermeer International Leadership Program Fund

  • Vermeer Corporation – Pella, Iowa