Of note: news about center alumni, faculty and students

CATEGORIES: January 2017, Voices

The Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics is pleased to recognize the accomplishments and activities of its alumni, faculty and students:

Taylor Finn, senior in economics and Spanish and an Elizabeth Hoffman and Brian R. Binger Legacy of Heroines scholar, graduated in December. She recently moved to Omaha, Nebraska, to work at the Union Pacific headquarters as a financial analyst. While at Iowa State, Finn chaired the Student Government Finance Committee, was co-chair of the World Affairs Series, and was a member of the university Committee on Lectures, the Economics Club, and the ISU Honors Program. She is from Elizabeth, Illinois.

During the International Leadership Association conference in Atlanta, Georgia, from Nov. 1-5, Amber Manning-Ouellette, lecturer in leadership studies, co-presented a research paper titled “Leadership Education from Ames to Stockholm and Beyond!” with Cameron Beatty, assistant professor of higher education and student affairs at Salem State University in Salem, Massachusetts. Beatty was a member of the Iowa State leadership studies faculty from fall 2013 to August 2016. Manning-Ouellette also co-facilitated a roundtable, “Challenge Accepted: Addressing How Leadership Intersects with Women’s Academic Persistence in STEM,” with Katie Friesen, leadership studies graduate teaching assistant. Manning-Ouellette also was recently awarded a $500 professional development grant from the Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost. The award supports travel to the 2017 Midwest Campus Compact Conference at Loyola University Chicago in June to present research on the impact of student civic attitudes after taking a service-learning course.

Jeane Robles, senior in genetics and a Helen Jensen Howe Legacy of Heroines scholar, received a Women in Science and Engineering STEM Undergraduate Leadership award on Dec. 3 at the WiSE 30th anniversary banquet held at the ISU Alumni Center. Robles was one of three students recognized with the award, which is presented to individuals, groups and organizations for their commitment to promoting gender equity, diversity and inclusion in the science, technology, engineering and math fields. She is from West Des Moines, Iowa, and will graduate in May 2017.