Donors contribute to Catt Center’s success

CATEGORIES: March 2016, Voices

The Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics thanks the following donors for their friendship, support and contributions to its programs, scholarships and activities.

With the help of their donations, the center provided scholarships, internships and leadership development programs to students, including the new Stanley Global Leaders scholarships and the Vermeer International Leadership Program; brought noted guest speakers to the Iowa State campus through the Mary Louise Smith Chair in Women and Politics; offered workshops to women interested in becoming more involved in politics and public service through Ready to Run® Iowa: Campaign Training for Women; expanded the collections of the Archives of Women’s Political Communication; supported academic research through the Carrie Chapman Catt Prize for Research on Women and Politics; and gathered and analyzed data about Iowa women in elected and appointed political office as well as in leadership positions in private businesses and nonprofits.

Donors also purchased bricks and pavers in the Plaza of Heroines to honor important women in their lives. Those purchases, along with purchases from previous years, are helping fund a multi-year renovation project on the Plaza of Heroines to replace worn pavers.

The donors listed below made gifts to the center between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2015, or have provided endowment funds that generate annual support.

Archives of Women’s Political Communication

  • Mary Jo and Richard Stanley – Muscatine, Iowa

Axel Leadership Development Fund

  • Joni and John Axel – Muscatine, Iowa
  • Judith and David Hoffman – Ames, Iowa

Carrie Chapman Catt Center Endowment

  • Judith Brandlin – Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Mackenzie Currans – Itasca, Ill.
  • Catherine Elliot – West Des Moines, Iowa
  • Ann Feyerherm and George Meehan – Laguna Niguel, Calif.
  • Carolyn Herrald – Boone, Iowa
  • Sharon Juergens – Gainesville, Va.
  • Sharon Juon – Waterloo, Iowa
  • Susan and Lawrence Koehrsen – Ames, Iowa
  • Carolyn Masci – Massapequa, N.Y.
  • Theresa McCormick – Seattle, Wash.
  • Gaynelle Moore – Queensbury, N.Y.
  • Cheryl Peckenpaugh – Greenbelt, Md.
  • Nicole Peckumn – Des Moines, Iowa
  • Phyllis Peters – Ames, Iowa
  • Vaughn Speer – Ames, Iowa

Legacy of Heroines Scholarships and Internships

  • Katherine Bruntlett Annin Scholarship: Katherine Annin estate – Sun City, Ariz.
  • Beth Bierbaum Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Beth Bierbaum – Wellesley, Mass.
  • Elverna Christian Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Darleane and Marvin Hoffman – Oakland, Calif.
  • Phyllis Davis Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Endowed fund with multiple donors
  • Jane Greimann Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Lowell Greimann – Ames, Iowa
  • Haselhoff Family Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Sharon Haselhoff – Larchwood, Iowa
  • Elizabeth Hoffman and Brian R. Binger Legacy of Heroines Fund: Elizabeth Hoffman and Brian Binger – Ames, Iowa
  • Helen Jensen Howe Science Scholarship for Women: Helen Jensen Howe – Muscatine, Iowa
  • Joanne and Charles Kuster Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Chuck and Joanne Kuster – Johnston, Iowa
  • Meylor Family Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Sharon Haselhoff – Larchwood, Iowa
  • Political Science Alumni Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Nancy and William Haigh – Fairmont, Minn.; Sharon Haselhoff – Larchwood, Iowa; Maureen Roach Tobin and Terrence Tobin – Clive, Iowa (with matching gift from Principal Financial Group Inc., Des Moines, Iowa); and Dona Wolf and Dwight Ink – Leesburg, Va.
  • Rice-Neville Scholarship in Political Activism: Dianne and Keith Bystrom – Ames, Iowa
  • Alice Rodine Community Activism Fund: Sharon and Richard Rodine – Dallas, Texas
  • Sharon Rodine Leadership and Advocacy Fund: Sharon and Richard Rodine – Dallas, Texas
  • James R. and Lauri K. Young Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Lauri and James Young – Cedar Falls, Iowa

Mary Louise Smith Chair in Women and Politics

  • Mary Jo and Richard Stanley – Muscatine, Iowa

Plaza of Heroines Fund (Donors and Honorees)

  • Alysia Alger (Missouri Valley, Iowa) honored Dorothy Grace Alger
  • Brooke Almasi (Robins, Iowa) honored Nancy Petrick Almasi
  • Carol Bachmann and Tom Herzberg (Afton, Minnesota) honored Katerina M. Herzberg
  • Joseph Burquest (Roseville, Minn.) honored Elizabeth Burquest
  • Glenn Busset (Columbus, Kan.) honored Rosemary Hicks Bussett
  • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Student Academic Services staff members (Ames, Iowa) honored Nancy Osborn Johnsen
  • DAWNs List PAC (Des Moines, Iowa) honored Bonnie Campbell, Mary Campos, Peggy Huppert, Cheryll Jones, Ann Michalski, Charlotte Nelson, Maggie Rawland and Ruth Cotter Scharnau
  • Steven Dakin (Boone, Iowa) honored Lesley Martin Dakin
  • Tyler Farner (Ames, Iowa) honored Lavonne Farner
  • Carol Grant (St. Simons Island, Ga.) honored Natalie Berg Malliet
  • Ryan Hansen (Iowa City, Iowa) honored Kerri Barnhouse
  • Van Harden (Des Moines, Iowa) honored Bonnie Lucas
  • Kersten Hastings and family (Perry, Iowa) honored Verdina Odin Hastings and Kathleen Remund Walker
  • Angela F. Hockett (Des Moines, Iowa) honored Marsha Ann Kephart
  • Barbara Hug, Marvelyn Adams and Dean Lane (Newton, Iowa) honored Marjorie Hitchler Lane
  • League of Women Voters of Iowa honored Joy Corning and Jeff Danielson
  • Ruth MacDonald (Ames, Iowa) honored Cheryll Reitmeier
  • Rebecca MacRae (San Jose, Calif.) honored Mabel L. MacRae
  • Elisa McAfee (Des Moines, Iowa) honored Denise Jilovec McAfee
  • Nina Rasmusson (Nevada, Iowa) honored Lois Clark Rasmusson
  • Republican Women of Black Hawk County (Iowa) honored Barbara Grassley
  • Maddy, Hannah and Nate Sislow (Gurnee, Ill.) honored Karen Sislow
  • Caitlin Strand (Urbandale, Iowa) honored Mary Strand and Kimberly Yoblonski
  • Betsy Thompson (Ames, Iowa) honored Genelle F. Spicer Thompson
  • Norma, Leland and Kurt Verhelst (Pella, Iowa) honored Jill Verhelst
  • Kelly Winfrey and Peter Flora (Ames, Iowa) honored Susan Flora and Carol Winfrey
  • Clark Wolf (Ames, Iowa) honored Mary (Mitzi) Beisswenger Wolf
  • Mark Woolley (Ames, Iowa) honored Yvonne Woolley
  • Thielen Student Health Center management team (Ames, Iowa) honored Michelle M. Hendricks
  • Elizabeth and Anna Zimmerman (Ames, Iowa) honored Zora Zimmerman
  • Zora and Thomas Zimmerman (Ames, Iowa) honored Nada Devernja

Ready to Run® Iowa: Campaign Training for Women

  • Elizabeth Baird and Ken Cameron – Ames, Iowa

Stanley Global Leaders Scholarship Fund

  • Mary Jo and Richard Stanley – Muscatine, Iowa

Student Internship and Scholarship General Fund

  • Debra Marple – Ames, Iowa

Vermeer International Leadership Program Fund

  • Vermeer Corporation – Pella, Iowa