Of note: news about center faculty, students and alumni

CATEGORIES: July 2015, Voices

The Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics is pleased to recognize the accomplishments and activities of its faculty, students and alumni:

Dr. Lauren Hughes, a Helen Jensen Howe Legacy of Heroines Scholarship for Women in Science recipient from 2000-2002 and Catt Associate from 2000-2001, was named deputy secretary for health innovation for the Pennsylvania Department of Health on June 23. She will lead the Health Innovation Deputate. The overall goal of health innovation is to implement strategies that result in improved health, improved health care delivery and lower costs. Hughes graduated from Iowa State in 2002 with degrees in zoology and Spanish. She completed a Master of Public Health at George Washington University in 2007 and her M.D. at the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine in 2009. Hughes is originally from Searsboro, Iowa.

May 2015 graduates Cathryn Kelzenberg, political science and English and a Rice-Neville Legacy of Heroines scholar from 2013-2015; Jennifer Musgrove, Spanish and the Lauri K. and James R. Young Legacy of Heroines scholar from 2012-2015; and Kate Tindall, journalism and mass communication and political science, the Jane Greimann Legacy of Heroines scholar from 2013-2015, and the Catt Center’s Archives of Women’s Political Communication intern from 2013-2014, were among the 91 Iowa State students initiated into Phi Beta Kappa during a ceremony on May 3. Founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary, Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest and most prestigious honorary society. It recognizes students for outstanding academic achievement in a broad curriculum in the liberal arts and sciences. Kelzenberg is from Woodbury, Minnesota, and Musgrove is from Ames, Iowa. Tindall accepted a position with WGEM in Quincy, Illinois, as a multimedia journalist. She started at the NBC affiliate on June 15. Tindall is from Akron, Iowa.

Jeane Robles, junior in genetics and a Helen Jensen Howe Legacy of Heroines Scholarship for Women in Science recipient, is one of six students in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences to be accepted into the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators Undergraduate Fellows Program for the 2015-2016 academic year. This program aims to increase the number of historically disenfranchised and underrepresented professionals in student affairs and/or higher education by mentoring and providing networking experiences students might not otherwise have.

Clint Stephens, lecturer in leadership studies, and Katie Friesen, graduate assistant, presented “Building Piece by Piece: Teaching Engineering Leadership through Integrated Modules” at the American Society of Engineering Education annual conference in Seattle, Washington, on June 15. At the same conference, Stephens also presented “Surveying Industry Needs for Leadership in Entry-Level Engineering Positions” with Beth Hartmann, a lecturer in civil, construction and environmental engineering at Iowa State, on June 16.