Donors contribute to Catt Center’s success

CATEGORIES: March 2015, Voices

The Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics thanks the following donors for their friendship, support and contributions to its programs,
scholarships and activities.

With the help of their donations, the center provided scholarships, internships and leadership development programs to students, including two new
leadership study abroad opportunities; brought noted guest speakers to the Iowa State campus through the Mary Louise Smith Chair in Women and Politics and
several co-sponsorships; provided training to women interested in becoming more involved in politics and public service through Ready to Run® Iowa:
Campaign Training for Women; expanded the collections of the Archives of Women’s Political Communication; supported academic research through the Carrie
Chapman Catt Prize for Research on Women and Politics; and gathered and analyzed data about Iowa women in elected and appointed political office as well as in leadership positions in private businesses and nonprofits.

Donors also purchased bricks in the Plaza of Heroines to honor important women in their lives. Those purchases, along with purchases from previous years,
are helping fund a multi-year renovation project on the Plaza of Heroines to replace worn pavers.

The donors listed below made gifts to the center between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2014, or have provided endowment funds that generate annual support.

Archives of Women’s Political Communication

  • Mary Jo and Richard Stanley – Muscatine, Iowa

Axel Leadership Development Fund

  • Joni and John Axel – Muscatine, Iowa
  • Judith and David Hoffman – Ames, Iowa
  • Clinton Stephens – Ames, Iowa

Carrie Chapman Catt Center Endowment

  • Elizabeth Baird and Kenneth Cameron – Ames, Iowa
  • Neala and Chuck Benson – Ames, Iowa
  • Judith Brandlin – Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Iowa Women Lead Change — Cedar Rapids, Iowa
  • Sharon Juon – Waterloo, Iowa
  • Susan and Lawrence Koehrsen – Ames, Iowa
  • Carolyn Masci – Massapequa, N.Y.
  • Theresa McCormick – Seattle, Wash.
  • NEXUS Executive Women’s Alliance — Des Moines, Iowa
  • Cheryl Peckenpaugh – Greenbelt, Md.
  • Gwen Rogers – St. Louis, Mo.
  • Emma Russell – Silvis, Ill.
  • Angela Schmidt – Fairbanks, Alaska
  • Robert Selander – Omaha, Neb.
  • Barbara Smith – Itasca, Ill.
  • Vaughn C. Speer – Ames, Iowa
  • Mary Jo and Richard Stanley – Muscatine, Iowa
  • Nancy and Charles Sweetman – Mason City, Iowa

Legacy of Heroines Scholarships and Internships

  • Katherine Bruntlett Annin Scholarship: Katherine Annin estate – Sun City, Ariz.
  • Beth Bierbaum Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Beth Bierbaum – Wellesley, Mass.
  • Elverna Christian Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Darleane and Marvin Hoffman – Oakland, Calif.
  • Phyllis Davis Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Endowed fund with multiple donors
  • Jane Greimann Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Lowell Greimann – Ames, Iowa
  • Elizabeth Hoffman and Brian R. Binger Legacy of Heroines Fund: Elizabeth Hoffman and Brian Binger – Ames, Iowa
  • Helen Jensen Howe Science Scholarship for Women: Helen Jensen Howe – Muscatine, Iowa
  • Political Science Alumni Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Nancy and William Haigh – Fairmont, Minn.; Judith Raak and Richard Heuwinkel – Washington,
    D.C.; Maureen Roach Tobin and Terrence Tobin – Clive, Iowa (with matching gift from Principal Financial Group Inc., Des Moines, Iowa); and Dona Wolf
    and Dwight Ink – Leesburg, Va.
  • Rice-Neville Internship in Political Activism: Dianne and Keith Bystrom – Ames, Iowa
  • Alice Rodine Internship in Community Activism: Sharon and Richard Rodine – Dallas, Texas
  • Sharon Rodine Leadership and Advocacy Internship: Sharon and Richard Rodine – Dallas, Texas
  • James R. and Lauri K. Young Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Lauri and James Young – Cedar Falls, Iowa

Mary Louise Smith Endowed Chair in Women and Politics

  • Mary Jo and Richard Stanley – Muscatine, Iowa
  • Victoria Szopinski – Ames, Iowa

Plaza of Heroines Fund (Donors and Honorees)

  • Ames League of Women Voters (Ames, Iowa) honored Joyce Samuels
  • Colleen Armstrong (West Des Moines, Iowa) honored Alexandra Gustafson
  • Janet Brimeyer (Ames, Iowa) honored Patricia Doll
  • Dianne and Keith Bystrom (Ames, Iowa) honored Jan Burton
  • Matthew, Cooper and Carter Chizek (Mason City, Iowa) honored Rhiannon M. Chizek
  • College of Courage (Ankeny, Iowa) honored Sydney Kate Peterson
  • Amber Cooper (Ames, Iowa) honored Beth Cooper and Mary Iler
  • Mike, Justin and Matthew Edl and David Bomkamp (Solon, Iowa) honored Darcy Ann Edl
  • Kevin Engels (Cedar Falls, Iowa) honored C. Arlene Engels
  • Molly and Tyler Fenske (Grand Rapids, Mich.) honored Mary Oglesby Fenske
  • Wilfredo Galarza Jr. (Brookfield, Ill.) honored Duvina Galarza and Norma Lopez
  • Scott Ismond (Ames, Iowa) honored Rita Ismond and Erna Exler
  • Cynthia Jenks (Ames, Iowa) honored Andreja Bakac
  • Kappa Alpha Theta (Ames, Iowa) honored Anne Witoski
  • Roberta and Alan Johnson (Ames, Iowa)
  • Grace Kavalier (Toledo, Iowa) honored Polly Hineman
  • Jane Kersch (Ames, Iowa) honored Anna May Ryan
  • Audra Kincart (Bloomfield, Iowa) honored Karen Sloan Kincart
  • Angela Klaassen (St. Joseph, Mo.) honored Donna M. Holevoet
  • Spencer, Hannah and Henry Klaassen (St. Joseph, Mo.) honored Angela K. Klaassen
  • Zack Koopman (Ames, Iowa) honored Betsy J. Thompson and Lauretta F. Bates Spicer
  • Jerry Long (Boone, Iowa) honored Susan Hillyard Long
  • Katherine Marcheski (Los Angeles, Calif.) and Jodi Marcheski (West Dundee, Ill.) honored Leona Krupa Marcheski
  • Julie and Dick McWilliams (Boone, Iowa) honored Sara McWilliams York and Kami McWilliams Hartig
  • Alan Moorhead (Coralville, Iowa) honored Edith Moorhead
  • Russ Mullen (Ames, Iowa) honored Melissa McElwee
  • Suzanne Negus (Nevada, Iowa) honored Jeanne Rohwer Negus
  • David and Patricia Sherman and family (Solon, Iowa) honored Muriel Jonker Vandermaaten
  • Katrina Smith and siblings (Sioux City, Iowa) honored Shirley Smith
  • Kelsey Steffen (Iowa City, Iowa) honored Cindy Rumohr Duhrkopf
  • Michelle Williams (Argyle, Wisc.) honored Stephanie J. Williams
  • Zora and Thomas Zimmerman (Ames, Iowa) honored Slobodanka (Dana) Devrnja, Julie Ann Fox and Judie Ann Rice

Ready to Run® Iowa: Campaign Training for Women

  • Ames Chamber of Commerce
  • Ames League of Women Voters
  • Elizabeth Baird and Kenneth Cameron – Ames, Iowa
  • League of Women Voters of Iowa
  • Mediacom
  • Mary Jo and Richard Stanley – Muscatine, Iowa

Stanley Global Leaders Scholarship Fund

  • Mary Jo and Richard Stanley – Muscatine, Iowa

Student Internship and Scholarship General Fund

  • Debra Marple – Ames, Iowa
  • Dorothy Powers – Atlanta, Ga.
  • Angela Schmidt – Fairbanks, Alaska
  • Victoria Szopinski and Steven Sullivan – Ames, Iowa

Vermeer International Leadership Program Fund

Vermeer Corporation – Pella, Iowa