2015 calendar honorees to be honored at Jan. 14 reception

CATEGORIES: January 2015, Voices

Seeking nominations for the 2015 Women Impacting ISU Calendar.

Women whose leadership has made a difference at Iowa State University will be honored at a reception from 3:30-5 p.m. on Wednesday, Jan. 14, in the Sun Room of the Memorial Union.

The reception will recognize the 12 faculty, staff and students selected for the 2015 Women Impacting ISU calendar, which is sponsored by the Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics with funding from the Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost. The ninth annual calendar will be officially unveiled and distributed during the reception, which is free and open to the public.

The Women Impacting ISU calendar includes photographs and brief bios of the three students, five faculty and four staff members who were chosen by a selection committee based on their achievements in teaching, research, administration and various other campus activities.

Students selected for the 2015 calendar are: Julia Anderson-Lee, graduate student in mathematics and structural engineering; Andrea Dvorak, senior in civil engineering; and Presha Kardile, senior in management.

Faculty selected are: Jean Anderson, director of the dietetics internship program and adjunct instructor and senior clinician of dietetics; Carolyn Cutrona, professor and chair of the department of psychology; Dorothy Masinde, associate director for nutrition education in the Center for Sustainable Rural Livelihoods and lecturer in global resource systems; Ana Prokos, associate professor of sociology and women’s and gender studies; and Diane Rover, professor of electrical and computer engineering.

Staff chosen for the calendar are: Jane Agyeman, director of TRiO Upward Bound and Educational Talent Search; Maura Flaschner, associate director of freshman admission; Carol Heaverlo, director of professional development for Extension and Outreach; and Nicci Port, administrative specialist in the College of Human Sciences.

“I thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity not only to read about the work of trailblazing women on campus, but to serve on a committee with distinguished ISU faculty, staff and students,” said Cathryn Kelzenberg, a senior in political science and English from Woodbury, Minn., and one of four students serving on the selection committee. “It was a difficult and rewarding process to select the calendar honorees.”

The selection committee for the 2015 calendar was comprised of 13 representatives from the Catt Center and its student programs, previous calendar honorees and additional members of the ISU community.

The Catt Center will begin distributing 1,000 copies of the free calendar during the Jan. 14 reception. Following the event, calendars will be available around campus at these locations: Carrie Chapman Catt Center, 309 Catt Hall; Sloss House; Student Answer Center, ground floor of Beardshear Hall; and various wooden bins located in the Memorial Union.