Donors contribute to Catt Center’s success

CATEGORIES: May 2014, Voices

The Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics thanks the following donors for their friendship, support and contributions to its programs, scholarships and activities.

With the help of their donations, the center provided scholarships, internships and leadership development programs to students; brought noted guest speakers to the Iowa State campus through the Mary Louise Smith Chair in Women and Politics and several co-sponsorships; provided training to women interested in becoming more involved in politics and public service through the Ready to Run™ Iowa and Campaign College schools; expanded the collections of the Archives of Women’s Political Communication; supported academic research through the Carrie Chapman Catt Prize for Research on Women and Politics; and gathered and analyzed data about Iowa women in elected and appointed political office.

Donors also purchased bricks and pavers in the Plaza of Heroines to honor important women in their lives. Those purchases, along with purchases from previous years, are helping fund a multi-year renovation project on the Plaza of Heroines to replace worn pavers.

The donors listed below made gifts to the center between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2013, or have provided endowment funds that generate annual support. A number of these gifts were given in celebration of the Catt Center’s 20th anniversary in 2012-2013.

Archives of Women’s Political Communication

  • Mary Jo and Richard Stanley – Muscatine, Iowa

Axel Leadership Development Fund

  • Joni and John Axel – Muscatine, Iowa
  • Judith and David Hoffman – Ames, Iowa
  • Rachel Luttrell-Sun – Jacksonville, Ill.
  • Tom Macklin – West Des Moines, Iowa

Carrie Chapman Catt Center Endowment

  • Boeing Co., Andover, Mass. (matching gift for 2012 donation from Joanne and Gerald Herber – Bellevue, Wash.)
  • Darline Balm-Demmel – Cedar Falls, Iowa
  • Elizabeth Baird and Kenneth Cameron – Ames, Iowa
  • Robert Baptiste III – Waianae, Hawaii
  • Dr. Ellyn Bartges and Dr. Laura Finch – Clearwater, Minn.
  • Neala and Chuck Benson – Ames, Iowa
  • Gail Bettcher – Wheaton, Ill.
  • Judith Brandlin – Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Jennifer and Kyle Bray – Loveland, Colo.
  • Colleen Bussen – St. Peters, Mo.
  • Ruth Campbell – Minneapolis, Minn.
  • Bobbier and Adam Cranston – Waukee, Iowa
  • Elaine Dekovic – Ames, Iowa
  • Margaret Elbert – Ames, Iowa
  • Catherine Elliot – West Des Moines, Iowa
  • Friends of the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women Inc. – Clive, Iowa
  • E.J. Gallagher – Waterloo, Iowa
  • Carolyn Herrald – Boone, Iowa
  • Elaine Hieber – Ames, Iowa
  • Rev. Faith Jackson – Claremont, Calif.
  • Gary Johnson – Rockwell City, Iowa
  • Sharon Juon – Waterloo, Iowa
  • Gayle Kleppe – Eleva, Wis.
  • Susan and Lawrence Koehrsen – Ames, Iowa
  • Carol Legg Zeigler – Des Moines, Iowa
  • Jason Lien – St. Paul, Minn.
  • Joyce Moen – Newton, Iowa
  • Ruth Murphy – Manito, Ill.
  • Martha Palmer – Racine, Wis.
  • Cheryl Peckenpaugh – Greenbelt, Md.
  • Julie Phye – Iowa City, Iowa
  • Alta Price – Bettendorf, Iowa
  • Procter & Gamble Co., Princeton, N.J. (matching gift for 2012 donation from Irene and Austin Phelps, Jr. – Austin, Texas)
  • Pamela Ridington – Pearland, Texas
  • Janice Roxberg – Des Moines, Iowa
  • Kay Kretschmar Runge – Des Moines, Iowa
  • Karla Rupiper – Papillion, Neb.
  • Emma Russell – Cordova, Ill.
  • Nancy and Charles Sweetman – Mason City, Iowa
  • Ruth Weaver – Peoria, Ill.
  • Union Pacific Corporation, Princeton, N.J. (matching gift for 2012 donation from Darlynn Myers – Omaha, Neb.)

Legacy of Heroines Scholarships and Internships

  • Katherine Bruntlett Annin Scholarship: Katherine Annin estate – Sun City, Ariz.
  • Beth Bierbaum Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Beth Bierbaum – Wellesley, Mass.
  • Elverna Christian Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Darleane and Marvin Hoffman – Oakland, Calif.
  • Phyllis Davis Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Endowed fund with multiple donors
  • Jane Greimann Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Lowell Greimann – Ames, Iowa
  • Elizabeth Hoffman and Brian R. Binger Legacy of Heroines Fund: Elizabeth Hoffman and Brian Binger – Ames, Iowa
  • Helen Jensen Howe Science Scholarship for Women: Helen Jensen Howe – Muscatine, Iowa
  • Political Science Alumni Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: William and Nancy Haigh – Fairmont, Minn.; Judith Raak and Richard Heuwinkel – Washington, D.C.; Maureen Roach Tobin and Terrence Tobin – Clive, Iowa (with matching gift from Principal Financial Group Inc., Des Moines, Iowa); and Dona Wolf and Dwight Ink – Leesburg, Va.
  • Rice-Neville Internship in Political Activism: Dianne and Keith Bystrom – Ames, Iowa
  • Alice Rodine Internship in Community Activism: Sharon and Richard Rodine – Dallas, Texas
  • Sharon Rodine Leadership and Advocacy Internship: Sharon and Richard Rodine – Dallas, Texas
  • James R. and Lauri K. Young Legacy of Heroines Scholarship: Lauri and James Young – Cedar Falls, Iowa

Mary Louise Smith Endowed Chair in Women and Politics

  • Dr. Robert Smith – Kansas City, Mo.

Plaza of Heroines Fund (Donors and Honorees)

  • 2013 Beth Clarke Studio of Dance Senior Dancers (Ames, Iowa) honored Beth Clarke
  • Beta Sigma Psi (Ames, Iowa) honored Alice Jane Walter
  • Thomas Brindley (Alpena, Minn.) honored LaVerna Brindley and Carol Brindley Konagamitsu
  • Dianne Bystrom and Pat Miller (Ames, Iowa) honored Elizabeth Baird
  • Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching (Iowa State University) honored Jane Henning
  • Carol Cooper (Cedar Falls, Iowa) honored Janice Reinicke and Jean Seeland
  • Steven, Cierra and Maria Freeman (Ames, Iowa) honored Karla Embleton
  • Friends and ISU Colleagues (Ames, Iowa) honored Bonnie Bowen
  • Marc and Nicole Harding (Carnegie, Pa.) honored Marsha Springer
  • Norma Hensley (Ames, Iowa) honored Ramona Esbeck and Karen Klaibel
  • ISU ELPS Class of 2013 (Iowa State University) honored Nancy J. Evans
  • Norene and James Johnson (Eldora, Iowa) honored Miriam Pyle Johnson
  • Susan and Lawrence Koehrsen (Ames, Iowa) honored Lisa Clarke-Koehrsen
  • League of Women Voters of Ames (Ames, Iowa) honored Bev Kruempel
  • Greg Luecke (Ames, Iowa) honored Jennifer Gelwick-Luecke
  • ISU Student Affairs Cabinet (Iowa State University) honored Kathleen Jones
  • Eileen Mericle (Bentonville, Ark.) honored Esther McShea
  • Gerald Miller (Grand Rapids, Mich.) honored Betty Miller, Tamara Miller, Taima Attal, Miriam Attal and Erica Dobson
  • Dorothy Myers (Broomfield, Colo.) honored Carita Holbrook
  • Nathan Olmeda (Lakewood, Ohio) honored Awilda Olmeda
  • Annie Olson (Minneapolis, Minn.) honored Sarah Rockwell Merrill
  • Kathleen Oulman (Ames, Iowa) honored Mary Massey Bauman and Bonnie Oulman
  • Brian Phillips (Ames, Iowa) honored Lisa Phillips
  • Ana Ramos González (Ames, Iowa) honored Rocío González
  • Angela Schmidt (Fairbanks, Alaska)
  • Don, Helen, Molly and Emily Seibel (West Des Moines, Iowa) honored Emily Weikert
  • Dalia Sheasha (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) honored Eman Salah Koraa
  • William and Theodora Shepherd (Washington, D.C.)
  • Grace Sward (Ames, Iowa) honored Kristie Sward
  • Norm and Erma Skadburg (Ft. Collins, Colo.) honored Julie Willis
  • Danielle Whitney (Eagan, Minn.) and Dayna Peterson (Tempe, Ariz. ) honored Darline Sue Peterson
  • Zora Zimmerman (Ames, Iowa) honored Lilo Teschner

Stanley Leadership Development Fund

  • Mary Jo and Richard Stanley – Muscatine, Iowa

Student Internship and Scholarship General Fund

  • Quincie Cooper – West Des Moines, Iowa
  • Katherine Henderson – Austin, Texas
  • Debra Marple – Ames, Iowa
  • Cheryl Sokoloski – Ft. Collins, Colo.
  • Jennifer Smyser – Muscatine, Iowa