2013 Women Impacting ISU Calendar
2013 Women Impacting ISU Calendar

Women whose leadership has made a difference at Iowa State University were honored Jan. 16 by the Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics on the seventh annual Women Impacting ISU calendar.

More than 1,000 copies of the 2013 calendar were distributed for free after the official unveiling and recognition reception on Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2013, from 3:30-5 p.m. in the Sun Room of the Memorial Union. The reception was free and open to the public.

The Women Impacting ISU calendar includes photographs of the three students and nine faculty and staff members who were chosen by a selection committee based on their achievements in teaching, research, service, administration and various other campus activities.

Students selected for the 2013 calendar are: Ruth Cardenas, senior in child, adult and family services; Szuyin Leow, senior in mechanical engineering and economics; and Stephanie Zywicki, doctoral student in education.

Faculty and staff selected are: Claire Andreasen, associate dean for academic and student affairs and professor of veterinary pathology for the College of Veterinary Medicine; Denise Bjelland, director of global programs for the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences; Natasha Croom, assistant professor of educational leadership and policy studies; Mary Jo Gonzales, associate dean of students and director of the Academic Success Center; Elizabeth Hoffman, former executive vice president and provost and professor of economics; Jane Jacobson, director of student academic services for the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Sue Lamont, the C.F. Curtiss distinguished professor of animal science and equity advisor for the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences; Barbara Mack, late assistant director and associate professor for the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication; and Deb Vance, assistant director of the International Students and Scholars Office.

“There are so many incredibly accomplished and dedicated women at Iowa State, all of whom would be very deserving to be recognized on the calendar,” said Jesa Wolthuizen, a December 2012 graduate in journalism and mass communication from Akron, IA, and one of eight students to serve on the selection committee. “Reading the heartfelt praises of the nominators furthered my appreciation for each of the winners. They all are truly exceptional women.”

The Catt Center sponsors the calendar with funding provided by the Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost. The selection committee was comprised of 15 representatives from the Catt Center and its student programs, previous calendar honorees and additional members of the ISU community.

Read more details about the 2013 honorees.