2009 Women Impacting ISU Calendar
2009 Women Impacting ISU Calendar

Twelve women whose leadership has made a difference at Iowa State University were honored by the Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics on the third annual “Women Impacting ISU” calendar.

More than 1,000 copies of the 2009 calendar were distributed free after an official unveiling and recognition reception on Friday, December 5, 2008. The “Women Impacting ISU” calendars was formatted as a large poster with a 2009 calendar. The poster also included photographs of the six students and six faculty and staff members who were selected based on their achievements in administration, teaching, research, service and various other campus activities.

Funding for the calendar was provided by a mini-grant from the Women’s Enrichment Fund administered by the Women’s Leadership Consortium and made available through the Office of the Provost.

The Catt Associates, a student leadership organization associated with the Catt Center, sponsors the calendar. Members of Catt Associates publicize and collect the nominations; organize the recognition reception; and help design, order and distribute the calendars. A committee comprised of representatives of the Catt Associates, Catt Center and previous calendar honorees selected the 2009 recipients.

“We received more than seventy letters of nominations this year, so it’s clear that interest in growing in this annual recognition of women’s leadership at Iowa State,” said Greta Johnson, a junior political science major and one of two Catt Associates who served on the selection committee. “The committee was impressed with the overall quality of the nominations and enjoyed reading about the truly amazing women leaders on this campus.”

Students selected for the 2009 calendar are: Danielle Simmons; graduate student in psychology, Nicole Bell; senior in construction engineering, Emily Jensen; graduate student in educational leadership policy studies, Maggie Luttrell; senior majoring in history and women’s studies, Brionni McGriff; senior in political science, and Megan Savaia; senior in psychology.

Faculty and staff selected are: Kristen Constant; Associate Professor Materials Science and Engineering, Suzanne Hendrich; Professor Food Science and Human Nutrition, Gail Nonnecke; Professor Horticulture, Carla Espinoza; Associate Vice President for Human Resource Services and Director of Equal Opportunity and Diversity, Julie Larson; Director of Outreach and Events ISU Alumni Association, and Jenn Plagman-Galvin, Assistant Dean of Students/Director of Greek Affairs.

Dave Gieseke, director of communications for the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, served as the photographer and Sheena Lara, graphic designer for the college, helped design and format the 2009 calendar.

Read more details about the 2009 honorees.