2008 Women Impacting ISU Calendar
2008 Women Impacting ISU Calendar

Twelve women whose leadership has made a difference at Iowa State University were honored by the Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics on the second annual “Women Impacting ISU” calendar.

More than 2,000 copies of the 2008 calendar were distributed free after an official unveiling and recognition reception on Friday, Jan. 18, 2008. The “Women Impacting ISU” calendars were formatted as a large poster with a 2008 calendar. The poster also included photographs of the six students and six faculty and staff members who were selected based on their achievements in administration, teaching, research, service and various other campus activities.

Funding for the calendar was provided by a mini-grant from the Women’s Enrichment Fund administered by the Women’s Leadership Consortium and made available through the Office of the Provost.

The Catt Associates, a student leadership organization associated with the Carrie Chapman Catt Center, sponsors the calendar. Members of Catt Associates publicize, collect and review nominations; select the honorees; organize the recognition reception; and help design, order and distribute the calendars.

“The quality of the nominations made the selection process very difficult,” said Greta Johnson, a sophomore in political science who is coordinating the project as the Center’s 2007-08 Alice Rodine intern in community activism. “It is amazing to learn about all the things that the women of ISU are involved with to improve the campus environment for everyone.”

Students included on the 2008 calendar are: Swarupa Bakre, graduate student in business administration; Whitney Bynum, senior in mechanical engineering; Cathy Compton, senior in music education; Rachael Cox; junior in agroecology; Kelli Huser, junior in environmental science and political science; and Megan Todd, senior in marketing.

Faculty and staff selected include: Sally Deters, residence life coordinator; J. Elaine Hieber, retired senior associate athletic director; Sally Gleason, secretary for the Department of Chemistry; Bryony Bonning, professor of entomology; Brenda Daly, university professor of English; and Wendy Wintersteen, dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.

Dave Gieseke, director of communications for the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, served as the photographer and Sheena Lara, graphic designer for the college, helped design and format the 2008 calendar.

Read more details about the 2008 honorees.